Moderators: Aladinsaneuk, MartDude, D-Rider, Moderators

katie1
Clubman Racer
Clubman Racer
Main bike: S1000RR, 1290 SDGT

Loving the Futura!

#1 Post by katie1 » Mon May 21, 2018 8:44 pm

Ok, the title pretty much says it all :smt003

Have done a few hundred miles now (mostly commuting) and am mega impressed with both the handling and the comfort. Makes my VFR feel a bit harsh!

Managed to pcik up a tear in the rear tyre so have replaced that but the BT023's do such a lovely job I just put a new one of those on. Only about a ton cheaper than the Metzler Roadtec 01 :smt009

One question (so far). What's the plug socket on the dash? Is it a power supply with a weird connector or something a little more prosaic? :smt017
Remember, when you are dead, you do not know you are dead. It is only painful for others.
The same applies when you are stupid.

D-Rider
Admin
Admin

#2 Post by D-Rider » Tue May 22, 2018 7:44 am

Well as a Futura newbie myself, I concur that the Futura is a great bike. Lovely and comfy and although I haven't had the chance to do any long trips, it'll clearly eat up the miles.
Handling is a noticeable step down from the Falco .... but then I'm comparing it with a somewhat fettled Falco - so maybe with a bit of work, the gap will be closer.
I've noticed that the power delivery is much more gentle than the Falco - but I guess that's how it should be - different characteristics for different tasks .... and were they the same, why would I have both?
Yes, I love both of my Aprilias.

What plug socket do you have on the dash? - I've not got one.
On the right hand panel next to the clocks, there is a circle that appears to be a knock out for a car cigarette lighter socket. I'm thinking I may fit a USB connector there.

Oh yes .... the other thing that annoys me is that with the standard exhaust, it sounds like a lawnmower whereas my Falco is visceral in its bark.
I'm going to have to sort that out (before I have to empty the bucket of grass clippings).